Announcement! Smart moms go underground

In our media-lead world where fear is pushed as a means to sell more product, there is a movement brewing. Moms, who by definition have the best intuitive sense of any creature on the planet, are standing up and saying, “We won’t be played like that!” These moms are examining the current parenting culture that brings us baby knee pads, professional baby-proofers, and child-tracking devices, and they are saying, “We won’t buy it.” Those moms are going underground…

They are saying a lot of other things too, in the titles of their books… “Homework Is Hurting Our Children & What We Can Do About It”, and “We Should All Stop Worrying & Start Living”, and “Ignorning The Experts May Be Best For Your Child”

They are saying it in the titles of their blogs.. “Giving our kids the freedom we had without going nuts with worry”, and “There is no “right way” to rear a child”, and “Lose the Guilt, Love Your Instincts”.

undergroundmomswidgetIt is an underground movement of common sense that is raising the volume of the voice of reason. That movement now also has a homepage UndergroundMoms.com No, it isn’t another social networking site (one more of those and the internet might explode), it is simply a referral source of great reading for smart moms who share a common value, freeing themselves from baseless restrictions and “raising the volume of the voice of reason” If you are already reading this blog, you are probably an Underground Mom too. You will enjoy the reading referrals you will find there. Free the people! (At least free the moms.)

www.UndergroundMoms.com

5 Responses

  1. Nice to know there’s a group of moms that aren’t trying to ratchet up the already high anxiety levels of moms!

    One of my favorite books about protecting children is “Protecting the Gift” by Gavin de Becker. He was on Oprah and I really liked his take that excessive worry about everything can blind you to the real dangers and doesn’t help you keep kids safe at all.

    Love being a mom, but as a classic over-thinker I enjoy a reminder that kids can and do get through childhood just fine.

  2. I raised twins, my only children, with no experience whatsoever besides babysitting behind me. Somebody gave me a Dr. Spock book while pregnant and I nearly went nuts with outrage. If you have read his book, he treats children like specimens. The person who gave me that book actually followed his lead and she was young and “intelligent”!
    I did fine, all on my own. The thing was, when I read a magazine article on twins or singles, I just couldn’t relate to the philosophy or lack of and also my own children just didn’t fit the cookie cutter of the children in the articles-ever! I followed my instincts and got to know my children really well and responded to that. 16 years later, all the things people said I was doing wrong or questioned or made horrible remarks about, turned out to be right.

    • I haven’t read Dr. Spock and I’m glad you did fine on your own, but parenting out of instinct works for some and not for others. There are parents whose instinct is to rage and beat their children because that’s what they grew up with. It would be nice if everyone had great instincts on parenting, but I don’t think they do. I like having books and such about different styles to consider. I think it helps for me.

  3. I decided to go Expert-Free about 2 years ago. It was great, I highly recommend it. Instead I have real-life parenting mentors that I go to if I really have to, but otherwise, I wing it. Now, when an Expert impinges on my conscious, I find it really irritating. Who the F do they think they are? Like the first poster said, there is no ‘cookie-cutter’ child – every child reacts differently, and the only way to really figure the little buggers out is to spend time with them and get to know them. I am the expert on my child, not some dude with a degree.

  4. Oh, and I stuck the underground moms logo on my FB page. Love it. Love the whole idea.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

