Myth 8: Swim suits with mom skirts hide flaws.

Exhibit A

Exhibit A

Exhibit B

Exhibit B

They don’t.

I just spent two days at a water park. I saw moms of all shapes and sizes sporting every description of bathing suit. Next time at the pool look around. You’ll notice that a regular swim suit looks better on even the largest woman than a mom skirt looks on the thinnest. First of all, the skirt on a bathing suit is not long enough to hide anything except maybe bulgy hips, but once it is wet, it is just an unflattering, soggy, hip clinging piece of fabric anyway. Moms, throw off the self esteem veil that is the mom skirt. Flaunt that body, lumps, bumps and all. If you are out there in a bathing suit, you’ve already made the plunge. Wear it like you mean it and make a splash with all of your bad self.

If you still don’t believe me, start watching “How To Look Good Naked” with Carson Kressley from “Queer Eye For The Straight Guy”.  Its on Lifetime.  Set your Tivo.  Your body image will be transformed after one episode.

8 Responses

  1. You are so right on about this. I have one of those mom skirt bathing suits. It looked really cute in the catalog, and dry looks like a cheer leaders outfit. But as soon as I get wet, I look like a drowned rat, with the skirt down to my knees. It’s horrible. I haven’t tried on my regular bathing suit in a while, but after watching How To Look Good Naked, I know that it’s just a matter of my seeing my body differently.

    Thanks for the great post!

  2. Sorry, I disagree. I actually like the skirt look, and it’s not about body flaws to me as much as it is about modesty. I even bought my 9 year old daughter a one piece swimsuit with an removable skirt, and she loves it.

  3. I think short swim trunks look better on men than knee-long balloons:)

    • Yes! I’ll be so glad when the fashion for men to wear baggy clown clothes finally ends.

  4. […] lounging at a pool in Miami alongside many, many young women rocking bikinis. (My condolences.) And this piece posted last summer on Mommy Myth Buster contends that the skirted suit actually isn’t that flattering, which is a valid point but […]

  5. I totally agree. I live at the beach, and I see so many bathing suits, and when someone has a skirt, it just makes me look for what they’re trying to hide.

  6. rofl!!!!

  7. I burn just thinking about the sun. Since I don’t get into a bathing suit often I ALWAYS burn. So I wear nicer looking men’s swim trunks. Now they make ones for women but they are a bit shorter then the ones made for men. I see no reason to get skin cancer just to show off my pearly white legs.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

